OK I’m 60 but to be honest I’m not on a bike yet

OK, I’m 60 but to be honest I’m not on a bike yet. I have been on one in the past. Most memorably that time in 2006 when Allan and I cycled  from Wallsend in the UK to Hotnitsa in Bulgaria. I have to say I’ve been resting on my laurels ever since. I even wrote a book about it…anything to prevent  getting back on the bike!

But now the time has come. I’m on a ‘sort of’ diet. I want to look funky at 60 not ‘old lady’ and to that end I’ve started my training programme  for the Eleanor O’Malley Commemorative  Bike Ride which will take place on April 25th. Training so far consists of a swim in the pool at Bishop Auckland yesterday. But it was vigorous as I only had half an hour before the kids’ swimming lessons began.

Let me tell you a bit about the ride. It will start in Tynemouth and end in Warkworth. There will be 3 women doing it and it will be done in honour of my mother, Eleanor (Nell) O’Malley who would have been 101 on the 25th of April this year. She was 100 when she died last December, a fun, independent, loving woman. I miss her.

The ride is 34 miles and according to cycle-route.com  has a difficulty rating of 7/10 and should take about 3hrs 20mins….somehow I don’t think so! I’ll let you know how we get on and also what we ate to replenish the 1263 calories we used.

I wouldn’t like you to think that I haven’t been cycling at all since 2006 because I have – a little. Last year I rode to Cafe Bungalow in Sunderland and to the Berwick Youth Hostel. The Berwick ride was particularly memorable for the strong headwind, the exposed route and the stitch in my side.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

