Not riding but running…

I haven’t been on my bike for ages but I have been running. Perhaps I should change the name of this blog!

Anyhow I thought I’d tell you about a great free podcast which might interest you. It’s called, ‘From couch to 5k’. It’s an NHS product and its purpose is to get you running 5k – about 2.5 miles ( I think)  in old money, in 30 minutes!! I can hear you muttering that it’s not possible but the prog is divided into bite sized chunks, Laura – the narrator is unfailingly encouraging and I’m on week 4!

Each session is 30 mins long. Week 1 is about walking briskly and running for 60secs at a time. Week 2, you run for 90 secs continuously. Week 3 is 3 mins running and in week 4 we run for 5mins. Each run is repeated, for example in week 4 there are 2 x5 min runs and 2×3 min runs, so you run for a total of 16mins…OK so now I’m losing the plot and blinding myself with numbers. If you’re interested I suggest you look at the NHS site and download the prog to your phone and hit the road. Good luck! It’s surprisingly satisfying – and this is from someone who spent a lot of time and energy trying to get out of games and PE at school.

Categories: fitness, middle aged women getting fit, running | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

